No more fun and games…

I’ve been neglecting the blog to focus on coding. Even when we have a slow week, I feel like every minute I spend not coding is a minute that I fall behind.

But I would like to briefly capture some of the many awesome Wyncode moments of the past few weeks. I’ll start with friends and family night.

We started learning Rails on Monday, roughly two weeks ago. Wednesday the Wyncode crew assigned us to groups and gave us a Rails project to complete. And Friday, we would present our work for all our friends and family. Oh, yeah, and we still had to attend lectures and workshops throughout the day.

When they come up with seemingly impossible tasks like this, I wonder if they plot them out in their little conference room, twisting their mustachios and giggling.

I thought it was an impossible task, but my group banded together and whipped up a working prototype just in time for presentations. It was a great event and a great night, followed by an alumni picnic on Saturday, which was a real treat. Wyncode has built an amazing community, more like a family, really, and being a part of it is truly a privilege. Wyncode might just take over the #Miamitech scene!

The following week, we continued working on Rails and individual projects. We had time to catch up on past assignments and work on a project of our own choosing. I decided to spend my time working on a slightly more complicated app (for a book exchange) that included encrypted passwords and authentication, search via scraping Amazon’s homepage, multiple models, a join table, foreign keys, and one-click database entries based on the information scraped when the user initially searched for titles.

This was a frustrating and complicated task that often triggered the “I’m never going to get this” despair I’ve been forced to get comfortable with during my tenure here. I didn’t so much feel like I was building an app, but more like I was stitching together a Frankenstein pile of code. Instead of dead body parts, I dug around the graveyard of failed apps on my hard drive hunting for the last bits of the programs that still worked. My blueprint was made up chunks of the lecture notes cobbled together with snippets from tutorials and Pronouncements of the Documentation.

The pieces of this Frankenapp were held together with frayed string. Each time it struggled to life, a working organ would stress the stitching to the breaking point, and it crumpled as it voiced a blaring complaint. I got this monster up and walking a few times, only to watch his ankles and knees collapse beneath the weight of unwieldily code.

I breathed life into him just long enough to present his bruised and scarred face to my classmates yesterday. In the end, he was still my offspring, and no matter how twisted and hideous his visage, we shared that bond.

But now fun and games are over. A few days ago, we voted on final projects, assembled our teams, and it’s balls to the wall till the end of the course. Two weeks to build a fully functioning professional web app and present it to the #miamitech community at Pitch Day.

And to all my friends and family, and anyone out there who is interested in coding or #miamitech, Pitch Day is August 13th, at 7:00 p.m., at The LAB Miami. It’s a great event, and the more the merrier.

I just hope this next app has a prettier face than the last one. It would be fitting, of course.

Every Frankestein needs a bride.

 

“´Wonderful´, the Flatline said,´I never did like to do anything simple when I could do it ass-backwards.´”
William Gibson, Neuromancer

One thought on “No more fun and games…

  1. Hey it seems like you might have already finished your adventure. I was wondering if you could answer come questions. 1. As you got further into the bootcamp did u finally feel relief that you were understanding stuff. If did u feel pressure through the whole thing? 2. Did you get a job offer? If so, was is during or after the bootcamp and how about others in your cohort? Also if you did get a job where and what do u do?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment